Stacking the Shelves (522)

A few more books this week because last week a faithful follower of Reading Reality recommended Combined Operations as a readalike for Steel Fear. And I was tempted…

In other reading notes, someone in my reading group made the observation that publishers have been using “romcom” as a replacement description for “contemporary romance” – even though not all contemporary romances are romcoms. Far from it. But the observation continued that the cartoon-style, drawn, cover art seems to be leading everyone down a primrose path of thinking that the stories within are lighter in tone than they actually are. I’m thinking in particular of A Proposal They Can’t Refuse of a few months back, which was, most definitely, a romance, but deals with a lot of very serious stuff and isn’t really a comedy at all.

I’m curious if anyone else has any thoughts on the matter?

For Review:
The Archive Undying (Downworld Sequence #1) by Emma Mieko Candon
Death Comes to Marlow (Marlow Murder Club #2) by Robert Thorogood
Full Exposure by Thien-Kim Lam
Good Night, Irene by Luis Alberto Urrea
Mr. Clarke’s Deepest Desire (Enterprising Scoundrels #2) by Sophie Barnes
Playing it Safe (Electra McDonnell #3) by Ashley Weaver

Purchased from Amazon/Audible:
Between Two Graves (Combined Operations #4) by Dorothy Grant
Blood, Oil and Love (Combined Operations #2) by Dorothy Grant
Going Ballistic (Combined Operations #1) by Dorothy Grant
A Perfect Day, With Explosions (Combined Operations #3) by Dorothy Grant


If you want to find out more about Stacking The Shelves, please visit the official launch page

Please link your STS post in the linky below:

11 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (522)

  1. An interesting looking haul.

    I have found romances recently to have a more serious side and actually I quite enjoy that. I do think that there should be a differentiation between the two though. On my blog I will put Romance and Rom Com as different genres.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. What a wonder haul! There is a difference between contemporary romance and rom-com and much has been written about it. I do see Edelweiss use the genre of romantic comedy while I do not on Netgalley. Great question!

  3. That is interesting about the romcom vs contemporary romance label. I can see whre that would be a problem. And I love the look of the new Ashley Weaver book. I’m behind on her books..
    Greg recently posted..Sunday Post #478My Profile

  4. I don’t like the rom-com switch much either. When I see a “happy” cover, I expect a happy read. I don’t mind suspense and intensity, but I expect those lighter moments.

    Looks like some fun reading. Hope you enjoy!
    Pauline Baird Jones recently posted..Moon MadnessMy Profile

  5. I rarely read romance and I usually make that judgment based on the cover. Those bright, cartoony covers definitely imply rom com and are little interest to me. However, a separate designation (and cover design changes) for books with a more serious tone would be welcome. Excellent question – now we just need publishers to ask it! 🙂
    Terrie @ Bookshelf Journeys
    Terrie @ Bookshelf Journeys recently posted..Stacking the Shelves #24, Sunday Post and Sunday Salon #24My Profile

  6. Good observation and thanks for sharing. I have not read any romances nor romcoms recently, but the cover does (or should) set the tone for the book. I’ll keep that in mind when I choose the next one I read. 🙂
    Meezan recently posted..Sunday Post 6My Profile

  7. Contemporary romance and rom-com are different creatures. Also, I really dislike the current prevalence of cartoonish cover art, and it’s seeped into historical romance as well as other genres. It’s juvenile and often misleading regarding the tone and content of the book. Can’t wait for the fad to end. (And get off my lawn! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge