Stacking the Shelves (276)

Stacking the Shelves

This is one of the rare weeks when I bought more books than I picked up from NetGalley and Edelweiss.

I’m finishing up an article for Library Journal about science fiction romance. It’s impossible to talk about SFR without bringing up Linnea Sinclair. Her books are marvelous, and it’s a big huge gigantic shame that she isn’t writing more of them right now. Because when SFR readers are asked who got them started, hers is inevitably the first name that comes up. I have copies of everything in print, but I needed to look up a specific reference in Games of Command, and searching a print book is such a pain compared to using the “Search” function of an ereader. And I wanted to have them in ebook anyway, because I think I want a reread. So I bought them all. Again. If you like SFR or just like space opera, Sinclair is a real treat. Don’t let the romance covers fool you, her books are excellent science fiction, they just also contain terrific romances.

For Review:
Fatal Chaos (Fatal #12) by Marie Force
Hazards of Time Travel by Joyce Carol Oates
A Princess in Theory (Reluctant Royals #1) by Alyssa Cole
Then There Was You (Angel Falls #1) by Miranda Liasson

Purchased from Amazon/Audible:
An Accidental Goddess by Linnea Sinclair
Finders Keepers by Linnea Sinclair
Gabriel’s Ghost (Dock Five Universe #1) by Linnea Sinclair
Games of Command by Linnea Sinclair
Hexed (Iron Druid Chronicles #2) by Kevin Hearne (audiobook)
Hope’s Folly (Dock Five Universe #3) by Linnea Sinclair
Rebels and Lovers (Dock Five Universe #4) by Linnea Sinclair
Shades of Dark (Dock Five Universe #2) by Linnea Sinclair
Wintertide by Linnea Sinclair

Borrowed from the Library:
Moonshadow (Moonshadow #1) by Thea Harrison

Stacking the Shelves (275)

Stacking the Shelves

I did manage to resist temptation at ALA Midwinter. I only saw one book that I wanted that I didn’t already have – but I only saw a poster for it – they didn’t have any ARCs left. Howsomever, the book appeared on Edelweiss the next day, so I have it exactly the way I wanted it. (If you’re wondering, it’s The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz. I loved Magpie Murders)

So temptation has been staved off for another five months. Not really, I’m tempted by the egalleys on NetGalley and Edelweiss every day!

For Review:
Farewell My Cuckoo (Birds of a Feather #4) by Marty Wingate
Mr. Blakely by K Webster
Murder at Half Moon Gate (Wrexford & Sloane #2) by Andrea Penrose
The Oddling Prince by Nancy Springer
Shelter My Heart (Caught Up in Love #2) by L.G. O’Connor
Surrender My Heart (Caught Up in Love #3) by L.G. O’Connor
The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz

Purchased from Amazon:
Leviathan Wakes (Expanse #1) by James S.A. Corey
Murder on Black Swan Lane (Wrexford & Sloane #1) by Andrea Penrose

Stacking the Shelves (274)

Stacking the Shelves

I’m writing this far, far ahead of when it is being posted. Because when it’s posted, I’ll be in the middle of my second all-day meeting at the ALA Midwinter Conference. In Denver. In the winter. Probably freezing. Hoping I brought warm enough clothes. After all, we live in Atlanta now, I’m not supposed to need lots of sweaters and heavy coats. Until ALA Midwinter. Next January we’re in Seattle. It won’t exactly be warm, but it won’t exactly be cold, either. Something to look forward to. After that, it gets pretty grim for a couple of years.

But I didn’t have much to list by starting early. And I’m hoping not to pick up a metric butt-load of print ARCS at the conference.

So I ended up buying a couple of books that I’ve had my eye on, just to have something to put in the list. And frankly, Dark in Death looks like perfect airplane reading – if I can keep from opening it right now!

For Review:
The Kill Wire (Jamie Sinclair #5) by Nichole Christoff

Purchased from Amazon:
Dark in Death (In Death #46) by J.D. Robb
Imprinted (Magic Ex Libris #4.5) by Jim C. Hines

Stacking the Shelves (273)

Stacking the Shelves

This is the pre-ALA Midwinter edition of Stacking the Shelves. There will also be a “during” ALA Midwinter edition, which will probably be very short, and a post-ALA Midwinter edition that I hope will not groan with the weight of the books that I pick up at the conference. I try, very hard, not to pick up print ARCs, but there are always one or two I can’t resist. But this time, there’s an app for that. They are unveiling a new app that will let conference attendees scan books that they want to get ARCs for later – when they can either be eARCs (for moi) or when the attendee can hopefully arrange to get them shipped.

Books are heavy!

For Review:
An Argumentation of Historians (Chronicles of St. Mary’s #9) by Jodi Taylor
By Fire Above (Signal Airship #2) by Robyn Bennis
Collision Point (Brute Force #1) by Lora Leigh
Head On (Lock In #2) by John Scalzi
Modern Loss by Rebecca Soffer and Gabrielle Birkner
Off the Leash (White House Protection Force #1) by M.L. Buchman (review)
Twenty-One Days (Daniel Pitt #1) by Anne Perry
Zero Limit by Jeremy K. Brown

Borrowed from the Library:
The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kadish

Stacking the Shelves (272)

Stacking the Shelves

Early in the week it seemed like I wasn’t seeing anything interesting. So, when the Amazon thingie of “if you liked this you’ll like that” popped up with Books Can Be Deceiving as a read-alike for Twelve Angry Librarians, I thought I’d take a look. One of the reviews for Books Can Be Deceiving was from a friend who passed away a couple of years ago. If she liked it, I’m sure I will too. And I miss her. And her grade-A snarkitude.

For Review:
From Unseen Fire (Aven Cycle #1) by Cass Morris
Hell Squad: Levi (Hell Squad #15) by Anna Hackett
Once Upon a Wolf (Wayward Wolves #1) by Rhys Ford
The Other Lady Vanishes by Amanda Quick

Borrowed from the Library:
Better Late Than Never (Library Lover’s Mystery #7) by Jenn McKinlay
Book, Line and Sinker (Library Lover’s Mystery #3) by Jenn McKinlay
Books Can Be Deceiving (Library Lover’s Mystery #1) by Jenn McKinlay
Death in the Stacks (Library Lover’s Mystery #8) by Jenn McKinlay
Due or Die (Library Lover’s Mystery #2) by Jenn McKinlay
The Graybar Hotel by Curtis Dawkins
Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado
A Likely Story (Library Lover’s Mystery #6) by Jenn McKinlay
On Borrowed Time (Library Lover’s Mystery #5) by Jenn McKinlay
Read It and Weep (Library Lover’s Mystery #4) by Jenn McKinlay
Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo

Stacking the Shelves (271)

Stacking the Shelves

A relatively short stack this week, but it still has a couple of books that I’m really looking forward to. And my library hold for the first book in the Elder Races series finally came in. I think the entire rest of the series arrived first. Murphy’s Law for the win!

For Review:
The Day of the Dead (Frieda Klein #8) by Nicci French
Good Luck with That by Kristan Higgins
The World Awakening (Gateways to Alissia #3) by Dan Koboldt

Borrowed from the Library:
The Darkest Promise (Lords of the Underworld #13) by Gena Showalter
Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1) by Thea Harrison
True Colors (Elder Races #3.5) by Thea Harrison

Stacking the Shelves (270)

Stacking the Shelves

I tend not to add things to this post until they have covers. Since I almost always get ebooks or eARCS, I can’t really photograph the books. And the “Cover To Be Revealed” graphic is usually pretty boring.

All of that to say that I’ve actually had The Poppy War by R.F Kuang for quite a while, but the cover was just revealed. Murphy’s Law dictates that now that the cover for one outstanding book has appeared, I have another book that should be listed but isn’t because its cover has not yet been revealed. And so it goes.

On a lighter, brighter and fully covered note, there are two books here that I have been waiting quite eagerly for. Someone to Care by Mary Balogh, and To Die but Once by Jacqueline Winspear. Balogh’s Westcott series has been absolutely fantastic, so I can wait to read more of the fallout from the original scandal that started the series. And I always fall right into the Maisie Dobbs series, so I’m sure that the new book will be no exception. I’m hoping that there will be another “Month of Maisie” tour this March, to give me an excuse to read one of the earlier books in the series (not that I really need an excuse) and the new one.

And on a fluffier note, Celta Cats. I would say that I want my own fam-cat, but as much as I love them, the idea of either Freddie or Lucifer being able to talk gives me the heebie-jeebies.

For Review:
Deborah Calling by Avraham Azrieli
Deborah Rising by Avraham Azrieli
The Grey Bastards (Lot Lands #1) by Jonathan French
Midsummer Delights by Eloisa James
The Morcai Battalion: The Pursuit by Diana Palmer
The Poppy War by R. F. Kuang
Someone to Care (Westcott #4) by Mary Balogh
To Die but Once (Maisie Dobbs #14) by Jacqueline Winspear
Whiskey Sharp: Jagged by Lauren Dane

Purchased from Amazon:
Celta Cats by Robin D. Owens

Stacking the Shelves (269)

Stacking the Shelves

Welcome to the first Stacking the Shelves of the new year! It’s hard to believe that it’s 2018 already. I remember as a kid doing the math to determine how old I’d be at the turn of the millennium – and thinking that it sounded way old. Now we’re 18 years past 2000, and the time has flown by. As Groucho Marx famously said, “Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.”

For Review:
The Family Gathering (Sullivan’s Crossing #3) by Robyn Carr
Rainbirds by Clarissa Goenawan
The River House (Swift River Valley #8) by Carla Neggers
Since Last Christmas (Missed Connections #3) by Jeffe Kennedy

Borrowed from the Library:
Dragos Takes a Holiday (Elder Races #6.5) by Thea Harrison
Five-Carat Soul by James McBride
Lord’s Fall (Elder Races #5) by Thea Harrison
Midnight’s Kiss (Elder Races #8) by Thea Harrison
Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7) by Thea Harrison
An Odyssey by Daniel Mendelsohn
Oracle’s Moon (Elder Races #4) by Thea Harrison
Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
Peanut Goes to School (Elder Races #6.7) by Thea Harrison
Pia Saves the Day (Elder Races #6.6) by Thea Harrison
Storm’s Heart (Elder Races #2) by Thea Harrison

Stacking the Shelves (268)

Stacking the Shelves

Welcome to the last and final Stacking the Shelves post of the year. A post in which I’m not actually stacking anything. I did get a few books this week, but not much.

As I said in last week’s STS, my mother went into hospice last Thursday. She passed away on Xmas Day, and her funeral was Wednesday. It was a blustery 6 degrees in Cincinnati that day. I had to borrow one of her coats to have something halfway warm enough to wear at her graveside ceremony. Which felt more than a bit weird, but it still smelled like her perfume and that was surprisingly comforting.

We’re finally home, but it seems that I brought a case of food poisoning home with me along with everything we cleaned out of her apartment. I’m toast.

Which doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t add a link to your Stacking the Shelves post in the linky below.

Happy Holidays, Season’s Greetings and a safe New Year’s to you and yours.

Stacking the Shelves (267)

Stacking the Shelves

As you read this, I’m on my way to Cincinnati. My mother was checked into hospice yesterday. I’m writing this just a bit ahead as we’re planning to get on the road. It probably seems strange that I’m posting this, but reading and blogging both help calm my nerves. Of which I suddenly have a ton.

For Review:
After Hours (Boardroom #2) by Lynda Aicher
Crashed on an Ice World (Phoenix Adventures #11) by Anna Hackett
Giving Chase (Chase Brothers #1) by Lauren Dane
Space Opera by Catherynne M. Valente

Purchased from Amazon:
Once Upon a Christmas Eve (Maiden Lane #12.6) by Elizabeth Hoyt (review)

Borrowed from the Library:
The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris
Elementary (Elemental Masters #8.5) by Mercedes Lackey
Hunter’s Season (Elder Races #4.7) by Thea Harrison
Kinked (Elder Races #6) by Thea Harrison
Natural Evil (Elder Races #4.5) by Thea Harrison
Reserved for the Cat (Elemental Masters #5) by Mercedes Lackey
Sour Heart by Jenny Zhant
The Wicked (Elder Races #5.5) by Thea Harrison